Board of Directors

Glen Coulthard, Chair of the Board of Directors

Glen Coulthard is Yellowknives Dene and an associate professor in First Nations and Indigenous Studies and the Department of Political Science at the University of British Columbia. He is the author of Red Skin, White Masks: Rejecting the Colonial Politics of Recognition (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2014), winner of the 2016 Caribbean Philosophical Association’s Frantz Fanon Award for Outstanding Book, the Canadian Political Science Association’s CB Macpherson Award for Best Book in Political Theory, published in English or French, in 2014/2015, and the Rik Davidson Studies in Political Economy Award for Best Book in 2016.

Charlene Sundberg

Charlene Sundberg is a Yellowknives Dene First Nation member from Dettah, NT. Charlene graduated from St. Patrick high School 2002 and continued her studies at Grande Prairie Regional College in the Early Learning & Child Care Program for 2 years. She is a proud mother of 4 children. Charlene & her husband continue to teach their children their traditional way of life living off the land. She has worked with the Yellowknives Dene First Nation for the last 6 years as the Community Wellness Programmer, where she is known to coordinate all the special events in the communities of Dettah/Ndilo andjust recently started a new position with YKDFN as the Family Wellness Programmer. She previously sat on the Dettah District Education Authority as the chair person, and she now sits on the Mackenzie Recreation Association Executive Board for the North Salve Region and on the Yellowknife  minor hockey  special events committee.

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson is a Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg scholar, writer, and artist with a Ph.D. from the University of Manitoba. She is on the faculty at the Dechinta Centre for Research and Learning and a distinguished visiting professor at Ryerson University in Toronto. She is the author of Dancing on Our Turtle’s Back, The Gift Is in the Making, Islands of Decolonial Love, and This Accident of Being Lost, and editor of Lighting the Eighth Fire, This Is an Honour Song (with Kiera Ladner), and The Winter We Danced (Kino-nda-niimi Collective). Leanne is a member of Alderville First Nation, in Ontario, Canada, and has been engaged in Indigenous land based education for twenty years.